Sector Innovation and Planning Committee

Sector Innovation and Planning Committee

The Sector Innovation and Planning Committee (SIPC) is a multidisciplinary advisory group formed under the Legal Aid Act 1978 (Vic). It replaces the Community Consultative Committee and is an important part of our commitment to support disadvantaged Victorians. The committee includes private practitioners, members from community legal centres and members with experience in Indigenous organisations.

The committee will provide advice on the following:

  • legal assistance sector reform and innovation
  • a framework for legal assistance sector planning 
  • individual case scenarios submitted to the committee for advice
  • any other matter referred to the committee.

Committee members

Rebecca Boreham is a sole practitioner in Mildura, working in summary crime, Children's Court (crime and family divisions), family law and intervention orders.

Freia Carlton is the Manager of Victoria Legal Aid’s (VLA) Family Dispute Resolution Service. She has introduced system changes and bolstered programs to enable more disadvantaged children and families to resolve their parenting disputes through legally assisted mediation. 

Lee Carnie a lawyer in the LGBTI Rights Unit at the Human Rights Law Centre.

Indi Clarke, a proud 23-year-old Muthi Muthi and Lardil man, is employed by Mallee District Aboriginal Services in Mildura in the role of Youth and Community Engagement Facilitator.

James Dowsley is an accredited criminal law specialist and principal at his firm James Dowsley and Associates.

Eleanore Fritze is a senior lawyer in the Mental Health Advocacy at VLA. 

Suzie Forell is Principal Researcher at the Law and Justice Foundation of New South Wales. She has over 20 years experience in justice sector research. 

Mark Madden is Deputy Director of the Centre for Innovative Justice at RMIT University.

Helena Maher is Manager of Strategy and Planning at the Royal Women’s Hospital and Company Director of Co-health. 

Peter Noble is Executive Officer of the Bendigo based not-for-profit service ARC Justice, operating Bendigo’s Loddon Campaspe Community Legal Centre and Shepparton’s Goulburn Valley Community Legal Centre. 

Meena Singh is Associate Director of Aboriginal Services at VLA and a Melbourne born Yorta Yorta woman with Indian heritage.

Josh Taaffe is an accredited criminal law specialist and partner of the firm Doogue O’Brien George. 

Allegra Walsh is the Director of Criminal Justice Operations at the Department of Justice and Regulation.  

Cathy Whelan is a socio-analytically oriented consultant facilitating the work of SIPC.

Victoria Legal Aid staff

Khoi Cao-Lam is Manager, Client Access at VLA and part of the team establishing SIPC.

Jon Cina is the Associate Director of Access and Equity at VLA. 

Dan Nicholson is the Director of Civil Justice, Access and Equity at VLA. 

Bevan Warner is the Managing Director of VLA and has 20 years senior executive experience including in corrections and Aboriginal affairs.

Was this helpful?