Lead Counsel

Lead Counsel

Selection process

Lead Counsel can be chosen in consultation with solicitors, the Victorian Bar and the judiciary. They are approached directly by Victoria Legal Aid and agree to act as leaders.


All Lead Counsel receive brief fees consistent with Table M in the VLA Handbook for lawyers. However, Lead Counsel are also entitled to an additional three hours' conferencing fee to account for time spent in conference and additional discussion with Junior Counsel throughout the trial.

Lead Counsel

The senior advocates participating as Lead Counsel in the 2019 Trial Counsel Development Program are:

  • Rosalind Avis
  • Stewart Bayles
  • Kellie Blair
  • Zoe Broughton
  • Megan Casey
  • Peter Chadwick QC
  • Georgina Coghlan
  • Richard Edney
  • James Fitzgerald
  • David Gibson
  • Shaun Ginsbourg
  • Jason Gullaci
  • David Hallowes SC
  • Justin Hannebery SC
  • Cecily Hollingworth
  • Nadia Kaddeche
  • Nola Karapanagiotidis
  • Theo Kassimatis SC
  • Sarah Keating
  • John Kelly SC
  • Sharon Lacy
  • Anthony Lewis
  • Cynthia Lynch
  • Colin Mandy SC
  • Tim Marsh
  • Julian McMahon SC
  • Simon Moglia
  • Peter Morrissey SC
  • Julia Munster
  • Rishi Nathwani
  • Moya O'Brien
  • Mark Regan
  • Ruth Shann
  • Naomi Smith
  • Michael Stanton
  • Jo Swiney
  • Malcolm Thomas
  • Megan Tittensor
  • Antony Trood
  • Remy van de Wiel QC
  • Jarrod Williams


Was this helpful?